Awards & Honors

USC Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Highlights

  • Over 40 Fellows of the IEEE.
  • Three National Academy of Sciences Members (Sol Golomb, Andrew Viterbi, Robert Hellwarth)
  • Fourteen members of the National Academy of Engineering (John Slaughter)
  • Thirteen¬†recipients of the Okawa Research Grant (Alan Willner, Robert Scholtz, Urbashi Mitra, Antonio Ortega, Melvin Breuer, Viktor Prasanna, Giuseppe Caire, C.-C. Jay Kuo, Shrikanth Narayanan, Andreas Molisch, Bhaskar Krishnamachari, Michael Neely, and Salman Avestimehr)
  • Four Shannon Awardees (Solomon Golomb, Irving Reed, Lloyd Welch, Andrew Viterbi)
  • Over eighteen recipients of NSF Career Awards or equivalent (Young Investigator Award) and Presidential Faculty Fellows
  • Four recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (8 for the Viterbi School)
  • Twelve chaired professorships in the school are held by Electrical Engineering faculty
  • Nine IEEE Gold Medals
  • More than 50 Patents from faculty within the department
  • One Sloan Foundation Research Fellow (Daniel Lidar)
  • One David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship in Engineering and Science (Alan Willner)
  • Twelve Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (Michael Arbib, George Bekey, Daniel Dapkus, Solomon Golomb, Sanjit Mitra, Shrikanth Narayanan, C.L. Max Nikias, Viktor Prasanna, Aristides Requicha, William Steier, Steven Sample, Armand R. Tanguay, Jr.)
  • Six members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Solomon Golomb, Robert Hellwarth, Simon Ramo, Steven Sample, John Slaughter, Andrew Viterbi)

Electrical Engineering is among the most prolific departments at USC:

  • Total faculty size of approximately: 70
  • Typical enrollment approximately:¬†300 undergraduate students, 950 masters students, 350 Ph.D.¬†students

More Faculty Awards

2016 Student Awards