MHI Scholars

From left: Divya Varadarajan, Xiaohan Wei, Yihang Liu, and Long Li

The MHI Ph.D. Scholars play an important role within the Ming Hsieh Department of EE. They are student ambassadors, leaders, and innovators. These scholars were selected based on research accomplishments, publications, finalist talks, and their desire to pursue an academic career upon graduation.

As MHI Scholars, they also receive a stipend for the 2017-2018 academic year, travel funds, and a collective amount of funds to develop a program of their choosing.

2017 – 18 MHI Ph.D. Scholars:

Divya Varadarajan
Research Interest: Signal and Image Processing
Advisor: Justin Haldar

Xiaohan Wei
Research Interest: High-dimensional probability, stochastic optimization
Advisor: Michael Neely
Office: EEB 516
Xiao Han CV

Yihang Liu
Research Interest: Lithium/sodium-ion batteries, Two-dimensional materials, Neuromorphic computing
Office: RTH B105
Advisor: Chongwu Zhou
Yihang Lui CV
Long Li
Research Interest: Optical Communications
Advisor: Alan Willner
Office: EEB 518
Long Li CV

MHI Ph.D. Scholar Information:
– News article:MHI Ph.D. Scholar Harsha Honnappa to Teach at Purdue University
– News article:Kartik Audhkhasi – was part of team that won INTERSPEECH 2013
– News article:10/20/13 Past MHI Scholar Moh Amer’s paper gets accepted to Nano Letters Journal
– News article:7/26/13 Lead-author Chuan Wang creates first user-interactive sensor network on flexible plastic
– News article:6/21/13 Scholars talk about benefits at an information luncheon

Past MHI Scholars

Check out our archive of MHI scholars from previous years here.

Learn More