The Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering is one of the largest and most prestigious in the country. This is in no small part thanks to our brilliant faculty, dedicated staff, and passionate alumni. This department is more than a great place to get an education – it’s a real community that provides mentorship, support, and lifelong friendship.

Faculty Highlights:

  • Over 40 Fellows of the IEEE.
  • Three National Academy of Sciences members (Sol Golomb, Andrew Viterbi, Robert Hellwarth)
  • Fourteen members of the National Academy of Engineering (George Bekey, Daniel Dapkus, Solomon Golomb, Robert Hellwarth, William Lindsey, Sanjit Mitra, C.L. Max Nikias, Simon Ramo, Irving Reed, Steven Sample, Robert Scholtz, Leonard Silverman, Andrew Viterbi, Lloyd Welch)
  • Thirteen recipients of the Okawa Research Grant (Alan Willner, Robert Scholtz, Urbashi Mitra, Antonio Ortega, Melvin Breuer, Viktor Prasanna, Giuseppe Caire, C.-C. Jay Kuo, Shrikanth Narayanan, Andreas Molisch, Bhaskar Krishnamachari, Michael Neely, and Salman Avestimehr)
  • Four Shannon Awardees (Solomon Golomb, Irving Reed, Lloyd Welch, Andrew Viterbi)
  • Over sixteen recipients of NSF Career Awards or equivalent (Young Investigator award) and Presidential Faculty Fellows
  • Four recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (eight for the Viterbi School)
  • Twelve chaired professorships in the school are held by electrical engineering faculty
  • Nine IEEE Gold Medal Awards
  • More than 50 patents from faculty within the department
  • One Sloan Foundation Research Fellow (Daniel Lidar)
  • One David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship in Engineering and Science (Alan Willner)
  • Five members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Solomon Golomb, Robert Hellwarth, Simon Ramo, Steven Sample, Andrew Viterbi)